Skip navigation

Linda Collins Blogger

Three Months: Countdown to ICD-10

Posted by Linda Collins | July 01, 2015

The International Classification of Disease (ICD) is a system of coding created by the World Health Organization. Physicians and other providers currently use ICD to code all diagnoses, symptoms, and procedures. On October 1, 2015 the ICD codes will replace the current version (ICD-9) with a new and expanded version, ICD-10. All healthcare providers, including DMEPOS suppliers, submitting claims are required to use ICD-10 after that date.

The ICD-10-CM revision has more than 68,000 diagnostic codes, compared to the 13,000 found in ICD-9-CM. The revision also includes twice as many categories, and is more specific in identifying treatment. For example, ICD-10 provides codes to distinguish between a left or right leg; ICD-9 does not. ICD-10 will allow for better analysis of disease patterns and treatment outcomes that can advance medical care.

Your billing software company should already be working with you to update your systems. CMS and the DMEMACs are providing numerous training resources to assist you and your staff in transitioning to ICD-10. Take advantage of these opportunities and be prepared for October 1, 2015.

CMS ICD-10 Resource Flyer

Road to 10: CMS Online Tool for Small Practices

Region A, NHIC Medicare, ICD-10 Re​sources

Region B, NGS Medicare, ICD-10 Resources

Region C, CGS Medicare, ICD-10 Resources

Region D, Noridian Medicare, ICD-10 Resources

Össur R&R

The Source for O&P Reimbursement & Regulatory News & Analysis

If you have any questions for Össur’s Reimbursement Team or about Össur’s Reimbursement Services, please contact us at [email protected]