Skip navigation

Linda Collins Blogger

ICD-10 is Here

Posted by Linda Collins | October 06, 2015

All healthcare providers, including DMEPOS suppliers, submitting claims are required to use ICD-10 codes for claims with dates of service on or after October 1, 2015.

CMS offers a General Equivalence Mapping tool to assist with the conversion of ICD-9 to ICD-10 codes. To access the GEMs visit the CMS ICD-10 webpage:

Select the ICD-10 and GEMs link for the appropriate year.

Additional resources may be found at the following links:

CMS ICD-10 Resource Flyer

Road to 10: CMS Online Tool for Small Practices

Region A, NHIC Medicare, ICD-10 Resources

Region B, NGS Medicare, ICD-10 Resources

Region C, CGS Medicare, ICD-10 Resources

Region D, Noridian Medicare, ICD-10 Resources

Össur has created a guide with a listing of the ICD-9 codes and equivalent ICD-10 code. This resource, LLP ICD-10, can be downloaded under the "Reimbursement Resources" link on the right hand side of this page. Each ICD-9 code is cross walked to multiple ICD-10 codes. It is important you work with the prescribing physician to determine the most appropriate diagnosis code for the patient. Also, each ICD-10 code has three versions: initial encounter, subsequent encounter or sequela. DMEPOS suppliers will always use the code for "subsequent encounter."

Össur R&R

The Source for O&P Reimbursement & Regulatory News & Analysis

If you have any questions for Össur’s Reimbursement Team or about Össur’s Reimbursement Services, please contact us at [email protected]