Skip navigation

Linda Collins Blogger

Countdown to ICD-10

Posted by Linda Collins | September 02, 2015

Countdown to ICD-10

The International Classification of Disease (ICD) is a system of coding created by the World Health Organization. Physicians and other providers currently use ICD to code all diagnoses, symptoms, and procedures.

Claims with Dates of Service (DOS) on or after October 1, 2015 must have ICD-10 diagnosis codes. Claims with ICD-9 will be denied or rejected as unprocessable. However, ICD-10 diagnosis codes are not accepted on claims prior to October 1, 2015. And the use of both ICD-9 and ICD-10 codes on claims, regardless of the date, is not allowed.

CMS offers a General Equivalence Mapping tool to assist with the conversion of ICD-9 to ICD-10 codes. To access the GEMs visit the CMS ICD-10 webpage:

Select the ICD-10 and GEMs link for the appropriate year.

Additional resources may be found at the following links:

CMS ICD-10 Resource Flyer

Road to 10: CMS Online Tool for Small Practices

Region A, NHIC Medicare, ICD-10 Resources

Region B, NGS Medicare, ICD-10 Resources

Region C, CGS Medicare, ICD-10 Resources

Region D, Noridian Medicare, ICD-10 Resources

Össur R&R

The Source for O&P Reimbursement & Regulatory News & Analysis

If you have any questions for Össur’s Reimbursement Team or about Össur’s Reimbursement Services, please contact us at [email protected]